Frequently Asked Questions
I can’t install SecureBackup on my computer, What do I do?
Check your antivirus and firewall settings. They can block applications from installing unintentionally and you may need to create an exception for SecureBackup. Add the entire folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\ SecureBackup
What is difference between listed backup types?
SecureBackup supports three common backup types: Full, Incremental and Differential.
- Full Backup – It is a complete copy of all selected data
- Incremental Backup - Data that contains only those files that have been altered since the last full backup
- Differential Backup - Cumulative backup of all changes made since the last full backup
What happens to my data after a license expiration?
After your account is expired, any data that was not manually deleted will remain on all destinations.
How much data I can backup on the destination?
It depends on your cloud account (destination), specifically on the available space on the destination, you are trying to backup to. To simplify the process, current usage space will be displayed when you will select the destination
My Backup has not run in the past few days. It always used to start when I turn my computer on. What happened?
Check the power settings on your computer. Windows users can search for "Power Options" by clicking on the Start menu. You want to make sure that your computer is not going into a Standby, Sleep, Hibernate or any other mode, when your computer’s CPU is at rest (it is not an issue when your screen monitor is off).
If I delete a file locally, SecureBackup will remove it from the destination also?
All files that have been backed up, are remaining on the chosen destination, even ones that are deleted locally.
How do I add a second computer to my account?
It is not possible to add a second computer to your account if you have a Personal license (for one PC). To add a second computer to your account, you will need to upgrade your account to a Home license (supports up to 5 computers) or to Business license (supports up to 10 computers). After your account has been upgraded, you will need to install SecureBackup on another computer. You can log in with your existing user name and password. You will need to enter your license number and set up your backups.
How I can remove the entire backup from the destination?
There are three ways to remove the entire backup from the destination: by using the ‘Remove’ button in the application under “Manage Backups” wizard, by using the ‘Remove’ button in the SecureBackup web portal under the desired destination tab or manually, by direct access to your destination.
There are 3 ways to remove a backup from its destination:
- Go to "Manage Backup" Wizard and Click on the Remove button
- Go to SecureBackup Web Portal and Click on the Remove button
- Remove manually
I’ve lost/forgot my password, what can I do?
Do not panic! While your password cannot be retrieved – it can be reset easily. To reset your password you will need to go to the Login Wizard or the Log in page and click on the "Forgot password" option. Follow step by step instructions, and you will be able to log back in shortly. However, if you will not be able to reset your password, please contact our customer support line.
Is it possible to exclude a folder on my PC for the auto backup?
SecureBackup has an option to exclude any folder of your choice. Therefore, this folder will not be scanned or added to the backup job. To configure this option, you will need to go to "Settings" and then to "Exclude Folders" option. Once you will configure the specific folder to be excluded, this option will be applied on all of your future backups.
Is it possible to remove just the old copy of the backup?
Yes, it is. SecureBackup allows you to manage the Retention Policy on a specific destination, such as keeping old backups, size of the backup, individual files and more. Go to "Advanced Settings" menu, while creating a new backup, to configure these options.
How does file versioning work?
This question is relevant for Incremental and Differential backup types. When you upload a new version of a file to the destination, SecureBackup will retain the old version and keep it available for restore. The software does this automatically and no action is required on your end to cause this to occur. Need to take into the consideration that while working with these backup types taking up extra space on the destination. You can restore any older version of the backed up file.